Anthrax Co-Headline Winter Tour with Testament and Death Angel


(Highwire Daze writer Bret Miller presents his own take on music.  Read on…)

Misfits of the Reagan Era were given a new soundtrack to there lives when five leather and denim-clad NYC kids called Anthrax started making noise in 1981.  Soon after, Joey Belladonna took hold of the microphone and the band debuted live and on vinyl with the “Soldiers of Metal” 7″ single in late 1982.

Touted as one of the “Big Four” of Thrash Metal originators along with Metallica, Megadeth and Slayer, Anthrax displayed their chops with such classics as “Madhouse”, “I Am The Law”, “Caught In A Mosh”, “Efilnikufesin (N.F.L.)“,  “Among the Living”, “Indians”, “Anti-Social”, “Only” and a cover of Joe Jackson’s “Got The Time“.  Catchy as fuck lyrics referenced John Belushi, comic anti-hero Judge Dredd and Stephen King along with commentary on the sign of the times.

Among the Living” live from 1987:

Anthrax also showed a wicked sense of  humor and a deep appreciation of Hip – Hop music.  The band appeared on Married With Children and their B-side of the 1987 12″ single for “I Am The Law” was the jokey metal/rap hybrid “I’m The Man” (“Watch the Beat!”).  Their love of Rap continued with a massively metal reworking of Public Enemy’sBring Tha Noize” featuring PE, leading to a national tour together.

Bring Tha Noize” live with Public Enemy:

Anthrax continued to pummel ears and wreck necks through the 90’s and early 2000’s with John Bush replacing Joey Belladonna with their biggest commercial success the melodic metal epic “Safe Home” from 2003’s We’ve Come for You All.

Check out Keanu Reeves in the “Safe Home” video:

Spurred on by their Big Four show at Sonisphere in Bulgaria in 2010, and subsequent Stateside shows, Anthrax have laid at our feet their latest effort Worship Music, their first album with Joey Belladonna since 1990.  From start to finish the album is a true synthesis of all that makes Anthrax one of the greatest metal bands of our time.  Your hackles with rise as Scott Ian and Rob Caggiano’s guitars chug and shred, Charlie Benante slams his skins like a paddle to your heart, Frank Bello lays down the rhythms and melodies and Belladonna rasps and roars.  “The Devil You Know”, “Earth on Hell”, “Fight ‘Em Til You Can’t” and “The Giant” will grab you by the spine and mind and are a testament to the band at the top of their game.  Just listen to “Judas Priest” to hear the band channel their metal influences to know they’re as much fans as world-class thrashers of the highest order.  Anthrax fans bought up Worship Music as it debuted at #12 on the Billboard charts, the band’s second highest in their 20 year existence.

Fight ‘Em ‘Til You Can’t

(with Testament and Death Angel)
22    House of Blues, Las Vegas, NV
23    House of Blues, Anaheim, CA
24    Marquee Theatre, Tempe, AZ
27    Egyptian Room @ Murat Center, Indianapolis, IN
28    Piere’s Entertainment Center, Fort Wayne, IN
29    Expo Five, Louisville, KY
30    The Orange Peel, Asheville, NC

2    Tabernacle, Atlanta, GA
3    Promowest Pavillion, Columbus, OH
6    Crocodile Rock, Allentown, PA
7    Rams Head Live!, Baltimore, MD
8    Best Buy Theatre, New York, NY<



Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.


©2019 HighWire Daze | Site Created by Weird Mike


Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?