Fine China release the Jaws of Life on vinyl after a decade!

vbm_TJOL10thAnniversaryFront_1Fine China release the Jaws of Life on vinyl after a decade!

Defunct, cult, pure pop, Phoeniz, AZ quartet, FINE CHINA have their last studio record, originally released in 2005, The Jaws of Life being re-issued on 180 gram, limited edition vinyl. This is a collabroative effort between 4 entities who were instrumental in the bands history : Velvet Blue Music / Common Wall Media / Plastiq Music / President Gator. The record will come with a download card which include a brand new, freshly recorded Fine China track + a remix of ‘Are You On Drugs’ by the NYC darlings, Soda Shop.

The band will play a single reunion show in support of the release : 12/11 Phoenix, AZ @ Rebel Lounge

Official release date is 12/11, though pre-orders will reach a sell out before the date arrives.


About the band:
Phoenix, AZ — Indie rock band Fine China will return to the stage for the first time in nearly a decade Friday, December 11th, at the Rebel Lounge to commemorate an expanded 10th anniversary 180 gram vinyl reissue of the 2005 album The Jaws of Life. Featuring singer/songwriter/guitarist Rob Withem, bassist Greg Markov, keyboardist Josh Block and drummer Thom Walsh, the show will mark the first time Fine China has performed since 2006

Fine China was formed in Phoenix in 1997. After a series of well-received EP’s and singles on Velvet Blue Music, the group’s debut full-length When the World Sings was issued by Plastiq Musiq/Tooth and Nail Records in 2000. Produced by Ronnie Martin of Joy Electric, its analog synth-pop evoked the effusive charm of the band’s early ‘80s English pop inspirations, including the Pet Shop Boys, New Order and Orchestral Manoeuvres in the Dark. The band’s 2002 Tooth and Nail follow up You Make Me Hate Music was produced by Jason Martin of cult shoegaze band Starflyer 59. The record’s angsty songs (see the album title) moved the band into guitar-driven rock territory, inspired by the Smiths, the Buzzcocks, the Pretenders, the Replacements and the Psychedelic Furs.

In 2005, Fine China issued The Jaws of Life on Phoenix-based label Common Wall Media. Propelled by chiming songs like “Are You On Drugs?”, “Rated-R Movie” and “Don’t Frown,” the self-produced album was lush and layered, recorded with engineer Bob Hoag at Flying Blanket Recording in downtown Mesa. Withem’s lyrics are wry and occasionally biting, given to asides of hesitation and doubt, but ultimately faithful. “I’m sorry for the hatred in my soul,” Withem sings with unguarded openness on the haunting slow jam “I’m Sorry For the Hating.” The album’s post-punk melodic ism and sharp wit have held up; even as a decade’s passed, The Jaws of Life sounds fresh and current.

Pre-order the record here.

Velvet Blue Music


Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.


©2019 HighWire Daze | Site Created by Weird Mike


Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?