Various Artists

Love Is Hopeless 2013 by Various Artists (Hopeless Records)

Valentine’s Day is upon – and you surely know what that means! It’s time for another installment of the Love Is Hopeless series – and this year it’s definitely one of the best compilations yet. Featuring various songs from the Hopeless Records repertoire of talent, Love Is Hopeless 2013 features ten throbbing tracks of hot sonic love, and many are exclusive recordings. The covers highlighted definitely rival the famous Punk Goes releases from Fearless Records. And now, here are the heartfelt tunes featured on this year’s seriously seductive edition of Love Is Hopeless.

What better way to kick off a love fest than with All Time Low contributing an infectious pop punk rendition of the Cyndi Lauper classic True Colors – rendering this tune all their own. Bruno Mars is represented twice on this comp, the first time on We Are The In Crowd’s passionate version of Grenade. Lead vocalist Taylor “Tay” Jardine really delivers on this one, showing why she is one of the most vastly underrated singers on the planet – delivering the often covered song with a good amount of conviction and urgency.

Surrender by The Used is up next, a cut originally from the bonus disc of their landmark album Vulnerable. Definitely a song well worth revisiting on a Valentine’s Day comp. Air Dubai then treats us all to a steaming hot cover of the Britney Spears song Toxic, stamping their own unique trademark on the proceedings.

Divided By Friday send it all into the pop rock stratosphere with their wildly effective cover of the Bruno Mars song Locked Out Of Heaven – with the “Where you sex takes me to paradise” chorus ringing joyously through the speakers. I Will Follow You Into The Dark by Death Cab For Cutie is the one great love song to come out this generation, and For The Foxes delivers a sweet and heartbreaking rendition that is an absolute standout.

Yellowcard presents a wonderful acoustic version of their fantastic song Always Summer, clearly demonstrating that there is life well beyond the confines of Ocean Avenue. Useless by Anarbor then commences, a moving track culled from their The Words You Don’t Swallow release.

The expressive vocals of AJ Perdomo from The Dangerous Summer are displayed to sheer perfection on an acoustic version of their song No Ones Gonna Need You More. And then closing out the Love Is Hopeless 2013 comp is a contribution from latest signing Driver Friendly, whose Lost Boys will blissfully rock the listener into a gorgeous state of sheer delirium.

Be sure to spread the love and check into this year’s vivacious edition of Love Is Hopeless. Your perfect companion for this joyous Valentine’s Day season and beyond…

(Review by Kenneth Morton)

Hopeless Records Official Home Page

Love Is Hopeless 2013 on Itunes


Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.


©2019 HighWire Daze | Site Created by Weird Mike


Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?