Midge Ure at McCabe’s Guitar Shop

midgeurelive2Midge Ure, McCabe’s Guitar Shop, January 11, 2015

There was a tremendous amount of magic and excitement to be found within the confines of McCabe’s Guitar Shop in the heart of Santa Monica, CA. The legendary Midge Ure was making his way through North America on the Fragile Troubadour Tour, and graced the Los Angeles area with two outstanding acoustic shows that fans will recall for the ages. The first was already sold out and the last minute addition of a second set would eventually reach capacity as well, with several fans choosing to buy tickets for both performances. It was a once in a lifetime opportunity to see Midge Ure perform acoustic, and in such a tiny space as McCabe’s, this was a truly breathtaking presentation from a truly passionate artist.  Midge Ure opened for Thompson Twins and Howard Jones over the summer in larger arenas, including a stop at the Greek Theater, but was limited to a short set of older material. At McCabe’s, they sky was the limit, and the prolific Ure filled his set list with songs from throughout his vast and glorious career.

Opening with a gorgeous rendition of Waiting Days from his solo album Pure, Midge Ure instantly captivated the crowd with his easy going manner and wondrously expressive vocals. Touring in support of his critically acclaimed new album Fragile, a trio of gems were played from the new effort, including the hypnotic Let It Rise, the inspiring Become, and the sweeping title track. The Ultravox fans would be in for a wonderful night of reminiscing as well. Old favorites such as Lament, Vienna, and Dancing With Tears In My Eyes had the capacity crowd joyously singing along. And since Ultravox was not able to make it to the States to tour for comeback album Brilliant, Midge Ure played an acoustic rendition of the title track that enraptured the crowd. The even greater news was that Ure hopes to bring Ultravox to the States sometime soon for a full on tour!

midgeurelive1The solo material from the past still packs an emotional punch to this very day, with Dear God and If I Was definitely favorites of the past, present and future. And non-pretentious to say the least, Midge stayed onstage smiling while the audience clapped for an encore – concluding the memorable night with an Ultravox selection entitled The Voice from the Rage In Eden album.

And after the end of the magnificent show, Midge Ure walked to the front of the shop chatting with fans and signing each and everything that was presented to him. A remarkable night to be sure, and one of the very best acoustic shows this reviewer has ever witnessed! Midge Ure performing his wonderful compositions in this intimate arena is nothing short of euphoric and not to be missed! Be sure to pick up Fragile, the latest and perhaps greatest collection of Midge Ure songs, now available from EOne Music!

Midge Ure Setlist:
1. Waiting Days
2. Call of the Wild
3. Breathe
4. Brilliant
(Ultravox song)
5. Hymn
(Ultravox song)
6. Dear God
7. Fade to Grey
(Visage song)
8. Light in Your Eyes
9. Guns and Arrows
10. Tumbling Down
11. Let It Rise
(Schiller cover)
12. Cold Cold Heart
13. Lament
(Ultravox song)
14. Vienna
(Ultravox song)
15. Become
16. If I Was
17. Dancing With Tears in My Eyes
(Ultravox song)
18. Fragile
19. The Voice
(Ultravox song)

(Review and Photo by Ken Morton)

Midge Ure on Facebook


Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.


©2018 HighWire Daze | Site Created by Weird Mike


Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?