Sea Pinks Get Serious But Not Serious

Sea Pinks are a three piece from Belfast, UK formed in 2010. Singer and guitarist Neil Brogan began to write and record songs as a side project from his other band Girls Names (in which he is the drummer) and put out a cassette album Youth is Wasted, (featuring the single “Japanese Knotweed”) in September 2010 on his own label, CF/Records (releases by High Places, Mt. Eerie, Lucky Dragons, Cloud Nothings). When he started playing live, Brogan recruited the other two members of Girls Names, Claire Miskimmin (drums) and Cathal Cully (Bass), and the three piece have since played a number of shows in Belfast, Dublin and London supporting the likes of Nodzzz, The Mantles (who voted Sea Pinks their favourite support band on their recent european tour), Let’s Wrestle, and WarPaint.

Having garnered great reviews for Youth is Wasted (eg: “A masterclass in melancholic lo-fi pop” – Vice) the band went on to record their first studio EP as a three piece Peripheral Vision, released in January 2011 on 12” vinyl also on CF/ Records. Like the tape, the EP quickly sold out in a matter of weeks. Now, the band return with their second full length album Dead Seas which includes 10 brand new songs as well as Peripheral Vision for those who missed it the first time.

The first song to be taken from the new album is “Fountain Tesserae”, also the opening track of the album and a good indication of the development in sound from the tape-hiss surf pop of “Youth is Wasted” to the murkier waters of “Dead Seas”. While still being rooted aesthetically in 60s garage and 80s indiepop the new songs, as the album title suggests, explore ideas around decay and renewal (both emotional and physical) as embodied by the imagery of the sea and water in general. “Fountain Tesserae”, a “not entirely serious but not entirely unserious” song about a girl who (quite possibly on acid) jumps into a fountain while mistaking a mosaic tile pattern for diamonds, and cracks her head open, is the jumping off point.

Dead Seas will be released in a limited edition 12” 45rpm LP and digitally via CF/Records on September 6th, 2011 (USA) and September 5th – (rest of world).

Sea Pinks online:

Dead Seas tracklist:
A1 Fountain Tesserae
A2 Oh London
A3 Dead Seas
A4 You’re No Fun Anymore
A5 Heir Apparent
B1 Peripheral Vision
B2 Autumn Song
B3 Happy Apparition
B4 Harbour Shake
B5 Spiral Jetty
B6 Wave Decay

“Fountain Tesserae” video link


Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.


©2019 HighWire Daze | Site Created by Weird Mike


Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?