Simple Minds To Release Brand New Album Big Music on November 4th

utre_354109242014094039_2On November 4th, the veteran Scottish alternative rock band Simple Minds will return with Big Music, their first album of new material in 5 years. Three-and-a-half decades since their first real landmark album – 1980’s thrilling, impressionistic Empires And Dance – the Glasgow quintet, with frontman Jim Kerr and guitarist Charlie Burchill at their creative core, are rekindling the energy and attitude that made them one of the greatest bands of that era.

Yesterday, Consequence of Sound premiered the track “Midnight Walking” and said “even after all these years, the band still knows how to blend the perfect amounts of synthpop and meloncholy while striking right at the ol’ heartstrings.”

“I was thinking of my 17-year-old son and his mates in North London, all of them skint and just cruising/hanging around,” said Jim Kerr. “That in turn got me thinking of people on the move all over the world, for one reason or other, ‘all those people, marching people, trying to find somewhere to go.’”

Big Music, their 16th album was made with an array of collaborators old and new – including co-writer Iain Cook (of Glasgow band Chvrches) and producers Steve Osborne, Andy Wright and Steve Hillage (who worked on 1981’s Sons And Fascination / Sister Feelings Call). The album will be released digitally in the US on November 4th as well as on CD, double LP, and deluxe CD on November 24th.

“Our songs have always been a snapshot of a moment in time and Big Music is no exception,” says Jim Kerr about the band’s new album. “But there are also elements of nostalgia in that a lot of the themes are the same ones that fuelled us on Empires And Dance and Sons And Fascination. We are still writing songs about great cities and the movement of people. It seems that the more things change, the more they stay the same.”

On Big Music, Simple Minds does justice to their legacy, producing an album that deserves to be mentioned in the same breath as Empires And Dance, New Gold Dream and Sparkle In The Rain. They might have been away from the catwalk, but Simple Minds are now fully back where they belong.

Amazon Pre-Order

1) Blindfolded
2) Midnight Walking
3) Honest Town
4) Big Music
5) Human
6) Blood Diamonds
7) Let The Day Begin
8) Concrete And Cherry Blossom
9) Imagination
10) Kill Or Cure
11) Broken Glass Park
12) Spirited Away


Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.


©2018 HighWire Daze | Site Created by Weird Mike


Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?