White Willow releases new single, “Animal Magnetism”

whitewillowanimal1On the 20th of February Norway’s prog giants White Willow return with new music for the first time since 2011’s critically-acclaimed “Terminal Twilight”.

Known for thwarting expectations, they take on the mighty Scorpions this time, with a highly unorthodox cover of their legendary “Animal Magnetism“.

Paying tribute to the Scorps’ kraut roots, this version melds driving, Tangerine Dream-like synths with doomy, motorik rhythms. The single also introduces a brand new singer, Venke Knutson. Venke is a big star in her own right in Norway, being one of the country’s leading female pop artists with several Top 10 hits to her credit. That she has chosen to work with White Willow on a regular basis is a great honor for the band.

Another surprise comes in the form of an amazing solo from the king of klezmer, N.Y. clarinetist David Krakauer. Grammy nominee Krakauer has recorded with a.o. John Zorn and released albums on the prestigious Tzadik label. His session for “Animal Magnetism” was recorded in New York’s Eusonia Studios by Scott Jacoby, who won a Grammy for his production of Vampire Weekend’s latest album.

Later this year White Willow will release a full-length album that will be part 1 of a 2-part concept, just to make sure it’ll all be sufficiently proggy. The 2nd album is slated for an early 2016 release.

Musicians on “Animal Magnetism”: Venke Knutson – vocals, Jacob Holm-Lupo – guitars, bass guitar, synth, Lars Fredrik Frøislie – synths, Mattias Olsson – drums, David Krakauer – clarinet.

White Willow on Facebook


Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.


©2019 HighWire Daze | Site Created by Weird Mike


Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?