Select Page

ICE WAR set release date for SHADOW KINGDOM debut album, reveal first track

ICE WAR set release date for SHADOW KINGDOM debut album, reveal first track

Today, Shadow Kingdom Records sets September 29th as the international release date for Ice War’s highly anticipated debut album, Ice War.

A longtime veteran of the metal and punk undergrounds, Ice War is the work of the ultra-prolific Jo Capitalicide. The band had its roots in 2011, under the moniker Iron Dogs, who released two cult albums on Iron Bonehead Productions, before changing the moniker to Ice War for its debut 7″ EP in 2015, Battle Zone. Now flying solo, Capitalicide quickly set to work and released three more EPs over the next year and a half, and further refined his vision of a genuinely ancient heavy metal attack.

Alas, it all comes to its fullest fruition on Ice War’s self-titled debut LP. Pounding metal, completely stripped of any modernity – or anything from the last 30 years, or more! – Ice War deliberately shelters itself from the gloss ‘n’ dross of nowadays “metal,” instead returning to the archaic (and anarchic) splendor of late ’70s and early ’80s HEAVY METAL. No thrash, not even speed metal, Ice War’s fist-pumping, invigorating variety of heavy metal recalls the early days of the NWOBHM as well as the early American metal scene; the songwriting flows smoothly, naturally, pumped full of energy but not all-out aggression.

Nothing is forced – simply, Jo Capitalicide is being Jo Capitalicide, no more and no less. Crucially, his lyricism here focuses on the indigenous history and mythology of Native Americans. As such, Ice War mostly comprises re-recorded (and superior) versions of songs previously found on Ice War’s EPs – plus a real headbanging music video! Are you ready for the Ice War? If so, enter the “Battle Zone” at Shadow Kingdom’s Bandcamp HERE, where the album can be preordered. Cover and tracklisting are as follows:

Tracklisting for Ice War’s Ice War
1. Battle Zone
2. Dream Spirit
3. Standing Rock
4. I am the Prisoner
5. Slavers Whip
6. Reverence of Gold
7. We Will Stand
8. Falling Out


Skip to content