Select Page

WIRE TRAIN’s Seminal Debut Album IN A CHAMBER (1983) Gets A Remastered Expanded Reissue

WIRE TRAIN’s Seminal Debut Album IN A CHAMBER (1983) Gets A Remastered Expanded Reissue

Includes Six Bonus Tracks

Supermegabot is proud to announce their expanded (and long overdue) re-release of the 1983 debut album, IN A CHAMBER by legendary San Francisco band WIRE TRAIN on February 22, 2019. A Top 5 CMJ album, In A Chamber features the major alternative hit singles “Chamber of Hellos,” “I’ll Do You” and “Never” . This newly-remastered edition adds six bonus tracks, many making their first official appearance on CD.

Originally formed at San Francisco State University as the Renegades, the foursome changed their name to Wire Train after a demo tape they had recorded garnered Bay Area radio play. Soon signing to the acclaimed local label 415, In a Chamber was produced by young up and coming producer David Kahne, who went on to produce Paul McCartney, New Order, The Strokes and more.

The album’s perfect blend of new wave energy with Byrd-like guitars and hook-laden songs was instantly greeted with critical acclaim, including the endorsement of U2’s Bono, who declared it his favorite album of the year.

With “I’ll Do You” getting significant early MTV play, the band’s future seemed rosy, but follow-up albums failed to build on In A Chamber’s success. Wire Train quietly broke up in the early 90’s, but reformed in 2003 for the pilot episode of VH1’s Bands Reunited, which never aired. In 2009 they played a few dates to support the release of Snug, an album their label had rejected in the 90’s.

Newly remastered, this expanded issue of the In A Chamber CD is a limited edition release, packaged in a collectible 18pt, gloss-coated mini-LP sleeve, replicating the original vinyl package. A sturdy cardboard inner sleeve has a smooth interior finish to prevent scuffs.

Supermegabot Music Concern, LLC is a new label formed by two guys from Rykodisc. Our mission is to unearth great music, adding upgraded sound, bonus tracks, special packaging and new liner notes wherever possible. Supermegabot also plans a handful of very special new artist projects.

Wire Train members on In a Chamber
Kevin Hunter – vocals, guitar
Kurt Herr – vocals, guitar
Anders Rundblad – bass guitar, vocals
Federico Gil-Sola – drums

* signifies bonus track

1. I’ll Do You
2. Everything’s Turning Upside Down Again
3. Never
4. Like
5. I Forget It All (When I See You)
6. Chamber of Hellos
7. Slow Down
8. She’s On Fire
9. I Gotta Go
10. Love Against Me
11. It’s Only Dark – B-side to “I’ll Do You” *
12. Personne Jamais – B-side to “Chamber of Hellos” 12” *
13. Mr. Soul – Cover of Neil Young song, was B-side to “Chamber of Hellos” 12” *
14. Chamber of Hellos (London Mix) *
15. I’ll Do You (Ivan Ivan Extended Remix) *
16. Chamber of Hellos (Ivan Ivan Extended Remix) *

Skip to content