Select Page

The Broken by Youth In Revolt (Outerloop Records)

The Broken by Youth In Revolt (Outerloop Records)

The Broken by Youth In Revolt (Outerloop Records)

After spending the summer of 2015 on the Vans Warped Tour supporting the release of their debut EP Love Is A Liar’s Game, Youth In Revolt would lose a few key members – and it was beginning to look like their revolution to the top was all but a fading memory. One should never count a band out with a moniker as heroic as Youth In Revolt, and now a few years after their first release, a new lineup has assembled, and is ready to kick off the new year with a sonic blast to the senses. Bringing together the three remaining Revolter’s with two former members of Brightwell, the all new Youth In Revolt has unleashed an exhilarating artillery of sonic artistry entitled The Broken.

Kicking off with the explosive reveries of The Noise, one notices right away the perfect amalgamation of singing and screams that really sends the material in flight. In addition to the rock steady musicianship, this and many of the other tracks are complimented by an electronic underscore. Up next is Love Is A Liar’s Game, a stunning remake of the title cut from the debut EP that exudes even more passion with this 2017 lineup. Not Giving Up is a new song possessing a staggering sense of urgency regarding one of the member’s ex-girlfriends who passed away – truly powerful lyrics on this one! And then the epic title cut The Broken emits thunderous sparks with its dynamic “We will never surrender! You can’t stop is now!” lyrics making one feel they can take on the world! Brisbane is an absolutely gorgeous ballad showing another side of the extraordinary Youth In Revolt experience. Then we return to the mid-tempo rock inflections of Don’t Wait For Me that closes out the first half of The Broken on a cautiously hopeful note.

The single from the first EP There For You is giving a fist pumping makeover here – still the powerhouse sing-along anthem done to perfection by the 2017 Youth In Revolt comrades. I’m Not Scared presents a persuasive case for how dynamic and effective the New Jersey-based collective can be both lyrically and sonically. Alright will then pop rock your world as Youth In Revolt unveil a wildly infectious song that should be crashing all over the radio airwaves. Sleep is another wondrously unique composition with the band unleashing a tasty barrage of swing and pop punk.  Youth In Revolt closes with the tender Only One, concluding the album on a sweet and warmly optimistic note.

The Broken by Youth In Revolt is a triumph – a testament of talent and perseverance that will surely leave a lasting impression on all who give a good listen. Fans of Sleeping With Sirens and Of Mice & Men are destined to discover a new favorite when checking into what Youth In Revolt has to offer. The resourceful Youth In Revolt lineup consists of Tanner Allen on vocals, Kenny Torres on vocals and bass, Alex Ramos on guitar, Chris Coletti on guitar, and Arvin Sarathy on drums. Here’s hoping we see Youth In Revolt back on the road soon, as this is truly a band that could start a revolution with their loyal fan base and new recruits! Join the auditory revolt and prepare to be thoroughly enraptured.

(Review by Ken Morton)

Youth In Revolt on Facebook

Skip to content