Select Page

Alicate To Release Heaven Tonight via Pride & Joy Music

Alicate To Release Heaven Tonight via Pride & Joy Music

Alicate To Release Heaven Tonight via Pride & Joy Music

Alicate was formed in the late eighties by lead vocalist/guitarist Jonas Erixon and bass player Fredrik Ekberg. They released a 7” single called “The End/Too Shy To Take It” which is a collector’s piece today.

They toured in Sweden and Finland and also supported Ian Gillan on his “Toolbox Tour” in 1992. During the mid-nineties the band was put on ice.

Fast forward to 2006, where Alicate reformed and started to work on new material that resulted in their first full length album called “World Of Anger” (released in 2009). The same year they did a successful appearance at Sweden rock festival.

The success of this album and the popularity of their concerts, led to the release of their second album, “Free Falling” in 2013. Their third Full length album, “Unforgiven To Be Forgiven”, followed in 2018 together with a Live EP called “Live At Forum”.

The creativity was reaching soaring levels when Covid sadly hit the world and put the progress on hold for the band. However, Jonas Erixon still wrote songs and collaborated with some high profile artists and wrote/co-wrote songs for Giant, Skills (with Billy Sheehan and Brad Gillis) and Sweet Oblivion (Geoff Tate).

During the Pandemic, work also started on new material for Alicate. The band looked for a natural progression from their previous heavy album that would result in a more melodic version of the group, adding even more hooks to the songs. The result was the most successful album to date “Butterfly” (released 2022 via Pride & Joy Music).

The Swedish quartet quickly started recording their next release in the same vein. The result is their new album called “Heaven Tonight” (2024) that was recorded and mixed in Spjutseroad Studios and Blind Mans Aim Studios which will now be released again on Pride & Joy Music on April 19th, 2024.

Alicate Line-up:
Jonas Erixon – vocals and guitars, Fredrik Ekberg – bass, Glenn Ljungkvist – keys, Jesper Persson – drums

Skip to content