Select Page

VANSIND to release debut album “Mørket” in November

VANSIND to release debut album “Mørket” in November

Photo by Peter Hesselø

VANSIND to release debut album “Mørket” in November

Debut album of the folk metal band incl. members of Panzerchrist, Vanir, Iron Fire, etc

After a very promising EP released back in 2021 and a handful of singles that sparked folk metal fans’ enthusiasm – especially the Scandinavian strain – VANSIND is finally ready to release its debut album, “Mørket”. With their feet planted firmly in the Danish soil, the band provides a solid soundtrack for battle, chain dance and raised horns with melodies inspired by folk music that meets solid metal, rumbling growls, and clean female singing. The lyrical themes are inspired by the darker side of Nordic mythology and Scandinavian history.

Where the glimmer of the eye meets the glimpse of the sword you’ll find Vansind. And, if you enter the dance, maybe you’ll get a glimpse of Valhal too.

Mørket” will be released on LP (black vinyl, limited to 300) and digital formats via Mighty Music on November 17th, 2023. Pre-orders are available here.

The first single and official video from the album, “Grib Til Våben”, will be available this Friday and can be pre-saved here.

Vansind was formed in the summer of 2019 as a folk-inspired metal band. The band is based in Slagelse, Denmark, though the members are from all over the country. Just as the members’ geographical difference their musical background is also vastly different (with members of Panzerchrist, Iron Fire, Vanir, Detest and Mindmare gracing the lineup), they share their love for the music and a wish to add something special to the Danish folk scene. This year alone they graced festivals such as Næstved Metalfest, Asgaard Rock Festival, Warhorns Festival (UK), Hörnerfest (DE) and Burning Q Festival (DE) and they’re now set sailing for a bigger conquering trip with their amazing debut studio album.

Cover artwork by Bjørn O. Holter

“Mørket” tracklist:
1. Den Store Ask
2. Grib Til Våben
3. Blodmosen
4. Før Dagen Gryr
5. Den Første Fejde
6. Blót
7. Rejsen Mod Nord
8. Frigg

J. Asgaard – vocals
Line Burglin – vocals
Kirk Backarach – guitars
Mikael Christensen – bass
Rikke Klint Johansen – keyboards, tinwhistles, bagpipes
Danni Lyse Jelsgaard – drums



Skip to content